Management Plan

Management Plan
Adobe Acrobat document 10.5 MB

Scientific Board

Prof.Dr.Em. Anne Mie DRAYE

University of Hasselt (Belgium)

Honorary dean of the Law Faculty

Member of the ICOMOS International Scientific

Committee on Legal, Financial, and Administrative Issues.

(former vice-president)

Prof.Dr.Em. Marc ANTROP

University of Ghent (Belgium)

Department of Geography – Landscape Research

Member of ICOMOS-Belgium Scientific Committee


Prof.Dr. Christiane TIMMERMAN

University of Antwerp (Belgium)

Director of the Centre of Migration and Intercultural Studies (CeMIS)

Member of the board of directors of the European Research

Network on Migration (IMISCOE)


Prof.Dr. Koenraad VAN BALEN

University of Leuven (Belgium)

Director of the Raymond Lemaire International Centre for Conservation (RLICC), Holder UNESCO chair on preventive conservation, monitoring, and maintenance of monuments and sites Member of ICOMOS-Belgium Former Secretary-General of the ICOMOS International Scientific Committee on Structures

“Managing the landscape of the Hoge Kempen is an exciting task regarding the broad range and diversity of stakeholders. The participatory approach tackles very well the challenges ahead. It activates all policy and public levels involved and creates awareness. Combined with a strong legal protection, a dynamic and effective management strategy is guaranteed.”

Anne Mie Draye

Steering commitee

  • Wim Dries, Mayor of Genk, Chairman on behalf of Flemish Minister President Geert Bourgeois
  • Herman Reynders, Governor of the Province of Limburg
  • Ludwig Vandenhove, Deputy Province of Limburg
  • Igor Philtjens, Deputy Province of Limburg
  • Tom Seurs, Mayor of As
  • Frieda Brepoels, Mayor of Bilzen
  • Lydia Peeters, Mayor of Dilsen-Stokkem, Member Flemish Parliament
  • Gianni Cacciatore, Alderman of Genk
  • Marino Keulen, Mayor of Lanaken, Member Flemish Parliament
  • Raf Didden, Alderman of Maaseik
  • Raf Terwingen, Mayor of Maasmechelen, Member Belgian Parliament
  • Lode Ceyssens, Mayer of Meeuwen-Gruitrode, Member of Flemish Parliament
  • Anneleen Beckers, Alderman of Opglabbeek
  • An Schrijvers, Mayor of Zutendaal
  • Els Lowyck, Flemish Agency for Tourism
  • Dries Gorissen, Flemish Agency for Nature and Forests